File a Personal Property Tax Statement

Do you own a business in Michigan? You most likely have to file a Personal Property Tax Statement every year. Save time and confusion with our step-by-step instructions and tips.

Sold, closed, or moved your business?

Notify the Assessor immediately to avoid the possibility of being assessed in error.

Keep in mind that this is a general guide. You should consult a tax professional about your specific situation.

Online

Check if you're eligible for a Small Business Tax Exemption

Do you own a small business? Is your true cash value of personal property $80,000 or less? You may be eligible for the Small Business Tax Exemption! Click here for instructions. Keep in mind that if you're eligible and file for a Small Business Tax Exemption, you don't have to file a Personal Property Tax Statement.

If this doesn't apply to you, continue to step 2. 

Check the annual filing requirements

Keep in mind that you need to file a personal property statement by February 20 of each year. This is mandated by state law (MCL 211.19). The only exception is if you're specifically exempt from personal property tax.

The law has changed for personal property exemptions. Download the annual filing requirements PDF from our Related Links section to ensure you file the appropriate forms on time.

It's a misdemeanor if you don't file by the due date. This will jeopardize your right to appeal your assessment with the State Tax Commission.

Make sure you’re prepared

Check our Related Links section for line-by-line instructions. Also, we have answers to common questions by the Michigan Tax Commission.

Notices are sent to all known owners each year and provide all the information you need to submit your filing online. E-filing will save you time each year as the system will carry forward last year’s data. You only need to update the fields that have changed.

File your statement online

eFile Your Statement

You're done!

Way to be on top of it. After you file, you're all set until next year.

Paper Form

Check if you're eligible for a Small Business Tax Exemption

Do you own a small business? Is your true cash value of personal property $80,000 or less? You may be eligible for the Small Business Tax Exemption! Click here for instructions. Keep in mind that if you're eligible and file for a Small Business Tax Exemption, you don't have to file a Personal Property Tax Statement.

If this doesn't apply to you, continue to step 2. 

Check the annual filing requirements

Keep in mind that you need to file a personal property statement by February 20 of each year. This is mandated by state law (MCL 211.19). The only exception is if you're specifically exempt from personal property tax.

The law has changed for personal property exemptions. Download the annual filing requirements PDF from our Related Links section to ensure you file the appropriate forms on time.

It's a misdemeanor if you don't file by the due date. This will jeopardize your right to appeal your assessment with the State Tax Commission.

Make sure you’re prepared

Check our Related Links section for line-by-line instructions. Also, we have answers to common questions by the Michigan Tax Commission.

Notices are sent to all known owners each year and provide all the information you need to submit your filing online. E-filing will save you time each year as the system will carry forward last year’s data. You only need to update the fields that have changed.

Download the correct Personal Property Statement form for your business type

When you click the link below, you'll get to a list of forms.

These are categorized by business type. Click the correct one for your business to download, print and complete the form.

Download Your Form

File your statement with the Assessor

Our address is located in the Contact Us section. You can drop off your form in person or mail to:

Grand Rapids City Assessor’s Office
Personal Property Tax Division
300 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Map

You're done!

Way to be on top of it. After you file, you're all set until next year.

Phone

Call us for instructions

You can find our number in the Contact Us section of this page. We can't file for you over the phone, but we'll make sure you have everything you need to complete the online or paper form.

In Person

Visit our office 

Our address is listed in the Contact Us section. We'll help you get what you need to file.