Subcommittee forwards finalist recommendations for Third Ward seat

Published on July 10, 2018

The July 10 Third Ward Commissioner Vacancy Subcommittee Meeting image

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – Three candidates will progress to the next step in the City Commission’s search to fill the Third Ward Commission seat vacated last month by David Allen. A subcommittee comprised of Third Ward Commissioner Senita Lenear, First Ward Commissioner Jon O’Connor, Second Ward Commissioner Joe Jones and Third Ward residents and business owners this afternoon interviewed eight candidates and made finalist recommendations to the City Commission.

The three finalists – listed in alphabetical order – are:
• Ryan Anderson
• Austin Dean
• Nathaniel Moody

The City Commission will interview the three finalists from 4 to 7 p.m. Tuesday, July 24 in the ninth-floor Commission Chambers at City Hall, 300 Monroe Ave. NW. The public will have a chance to comment on the finalists during a public hearing at 7 p.m. later that day during the City Commission meeting, also in the Commission Chambers. The City Commission will discuss the finalists and vote on the appointment during a special meeting at 8 a.m. Tuesday, July 31. The finalist interviews, public hearing and vote will be streamed live on Facebook and YouTube and broadcast live on the Grand Rapids Information Network (GRIN), which is Comcast Channel 26. 

The five other candidates interviewed today were:
• Audrey Campbell
• Paula Collier
• Sarah Hampton
• Marci Lewandowski-Jenkins
• Jeffrey Snyder