Find City Commission meeting agendas, schedules, presentations, and more.
City Commission Resources
Are you an aspiring electrician or looking to advance within the electrical trade? Apply here to sign up for the Electrical Journeyperson exam.
You have to live in the Grand Rapids city limits to be eligible.
You need to have a lot of electrical experience to take this exam:
You can earn hours for your educational courses:
Before you apply, make sure you're ready to document your professional experience. You'll need to get letters from employers and technical schools to confirm the info in your application.
You can only take the exam twice in a 2 year period. You have to wait 1 year from the date you failed the 2nd time to try again. After the 1 year waiting period you'll have to show proof to the Board that you completed a course in one of these areas:
The Board has to give you approval to take the exam after the 1 year period.
You need to submit your application and get approval at least fifteen (15) working days before the exam. We'll send you a letter with more details if your application is accepted.
Sign Up in English
You'll need to enter your credit/debit card information to pay the application fee. We accept cash, credit, and debit (Visa or MasterCard). If mailing your application, all payments must be by check.
The examination fee is $25.
Here's what we need before we can review your application:
We'll mail you an admission notice about ten (10) days before your exam date. We'll let you know if your application is missing information. We can't approve your application if it's missing something.
Download in English
You can mail your printed application or drop it off in person. You can find our address in the Contact Us section of this page. We can't accept emailed or faxed applications.
Make sure to send payment for the fee listed on the form. We only accept checks or money orders for mailed applications. We take cash, checks, money orders, or credit/debit (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express) if you pay in person.
You can find our number in the Contact Us section of this page. We don't take applications over the phone, but we'll make sure you have everything you need to submit your application.
You need to submit your application and get approval at least fifteen (15) working days before the examination date. We'll send you a letter with more details if your application is accepted.
You'll find our address in the Contact Us section of this page. Be prepared to pay the application fee. You can pay with cash, check, money order or credit/debit (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express).
2022 Electrical Exam Schedule and Dates
Create a Citizen Access Account
Exam Study Materials on the State of Michigan's LARA Website
State of Michigan LARA - Part 8 Electrical Code Rules of 2014
State of Michigan LARA - Electrical Division Website
State of Michigan Skilled Trades Regulation Act 407 of 2016
State of Michigan Tille-Derossett-Hale Single State Construction Code Act 230 of 1972
Michigan Electrical Administrative Board Approved Exam Prep. and Re-Exam Course List